Welcome to the Journey

Who are you?

– My name is Alyssa, and I am 25 years old. I graduated from Baylor University in 2014 with my bachelor’s in International Studies. I currently live in Waco, TX as an office manager for a web development company. I first fell in love with traveling when I was little and I went on an RV trip to Canada with my family. Since then I have been to various parts of the US, Mexico, the Caribbean, Africa, Europe, and the Middle East. I am also passionate about creating adventure and gaining new perspective in familiar places, like my own hometown or in nearby cities.

Why a blog?

– I’m starting this blog for quite a few reasons. One of them is that I want to document the trips and adventures that I go on. I am privileged to get to go to some really cool places, but don’t have a great way of compiling my experiences. Another reason would be that I want to push myself to be challenged and to create more. Starting a blog has been something I’ve wanted to do for a while now, so I finally took the plunge and did it. But my main reason is for the pure love of traveling. I love the way that it makes me feel. I love experiencing new cultures and trying new things. I love the rhythms of life that I get to see all around me when I travel. And I love the trial and error of planning, researching, and discovering to make it all happen. Travel makes me realize how big and how small our world is all at once, and I want to share that with people.

What will you write about?

– I’ll be writing about a couple of things. First, I will be writing about any trips that I am going on (and potentially a few past trips as well). With these trips, I’ll let you know a little bit about the planning process, what I packed that was helpful, what the budget looked like, where I stayed, and things I did while I was there. But, I also want to bring you into what is happening in my own city. Waco is becoming more of a tourist city, thanks to the HGTV show, Fixer Upper. Because of this, our city has grown so much in the past couple of years. People are interested in what there is to do here, and it’s a great city to do a weekend trip! I’m a big believer in staycations and discovering new things in your own city, so I hope those posts inspire you to find the treasures within your own home.

Thank you for joining me in this journey! I hope that whether you are an avid traveler, or if you’re more of a homebody, you find something for yourself here. I believe that we all have something within us that longs to explore, discover, and learn. Whether this inspires you to do that in your own backyard, or if you want to plan a trip of your own, I hope that you stay motivated to gain new perspective and experience all that this world has to offer us!

Here’s to jumping into something new, for both you and I. May we never settle with what is simply before our eyes.

Leave a Reply

